The First Ever Men’s Physique Showdown in the Mr. Olympia Competition

This past weekend was a big one for the world of bodybuilding and men’s Physique. You had the highly anticipated Phil Heath and Kai Greene showdown (with a little Jay Cutler mixed in there for good measure) and on top of that the first ever men’s physique showdown took place on the Olympia stage.

The line up for the men’s physique show was a little crazy in my opinion. You had Steve Cook coming in to take first and Jeremy Buendia looking to uphold his flawless win streak. Here is my breakdown of the Top 5 and then the placings that I thought they should have gotten.

Mark Anthony Wingson
Mark Anthony Wingson

1) Mark Anthony Wngson: This one is a little tricky because Mark came in looking really conditioned, ripped (but not too ripped) and on top of all that he looked really full. His shoulders were broad which really impressed me because they sat on a rather small waist. Where it gets tricky is, although he looked great, and I know I’m not the only one who agrees, I don’t think he should have gotten first. Compared to the other top 5 he just didn’t impress me as much as the others. I’m not trying to take anything away from Mark but that is my honest opinion.

Andrew’s placing: 4th

Jeremy Buendia
Jeremy Buendia

2) Jeremy Buendia: This guy has been a huge inspiration for me from me ever since his “Simply Shredded” interview… but putting that aside Jeremy Looked fantastic. He was perfectly conditioned, his chest was huge and everything on his physique flowed together really nicely. Another aspect that you can’t over look are his genetics. The guy was blessed with great insertions, a nice full chest and big calves. Of course he works hard on all of these things but he definetley was blessed in the genetics department. There is a reason this guy has never lost before, and no it isn’t his pre -competition Nike tradition.

Andrew’s Placing: 1st

Matt Acton
Matt Acton

3) Matt Acton: Matt was another competitor that I thought deserved a higher placing. His back was really wide and he had tremendous thickness and fullness to his whole physique. I didn’t see too many flaws on his physique. He definitely has a great body for physique and I think he has a good shot next year at placing a little higher.

Andrew’s Placing: 2nd

Sadik Hadzovic
Sadik Hadzovic

4) Sadik Hadzovic: Just like Jeremy, I am a big fan. I think Sadik came in looking awesome. His waist was really tiny and his shoulders looked like they were going to burst through his skin. His obliques had a really nice look to them as well. He might have come close to being a little too muscular but overall I think he nailed his contest prep and I would have loved to see him have placed higher.

Andrew’s placing: 3rd

Jason Poston
Jason Poston

5) Jason Poston: Jason looked good. He was round and full but I just don’t think the judges were a fan of his shape in comparison to the others. I also think that in comparison to the other 4 competitors he looked just a tad small. Jason deserved to be in the top 5 and I am happy for him, hopefully he can bring a better package next year.

Andrew’s placing: 5th

One thought on “The First Ever Men’s Physique Showdown in the Mr. Olympia Competition

  1. Must confess: when I watch the Bears I never think: “Man, Jay Cutler can win a physique contest.” I guess those pads really hide some stuff.

Leave a comment